Wireless Network Adapter issue on Windows 7 Beta

I have been using Windows 7 for almost a month now and I am really impressed on the performance and reliability. For a beta product this is really awesome. The best part is that NO BLUE SCREENS from day oneJ.

Anyway the issue I was facing with Windows 7 from day one was that, whenever I hibernated or send my computer to sleep or standby mode the wireless adapter gets disabled and after resuming Windows it can’t be enabled. Initially as a solution for this what I had to do was restart my computer or without hibernating, sleep or using the standby mode on my computer I had to shut it down which again was a pain and problem.

I was doing some configurations here and there to solve this and BINGO!!!! Found the solution on how to overcome this J

By default Windows 7 enables “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power” power management option under the Wireless adapter. All you have to do is remove the check and disable this optionJ.

The following are the steps on how to do this

In the Network and Sharing Center click on Change Adapter Settings link. Right click on the Wireless Adapter and select Properties, click on the Configure button which you will find just under your wireless device name. This will open up a new Window which will have five tabs of which the last one will be Power Management. Uncheck the option “Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power” and click Ok. Now you’re good to go!! Now you can hibernate, use the sleep mode or standby mode and your Wireless Network Card will work just fine upon resuming Windows.   

 

26 thoughts on “Wireless Network Adapter issue on Windows 7 Beta

  1. Doesn’t work for me. My driver doesn’t have power management tab. Any other ideas? Thanks
    adapter: Intel PRO/Wireless 2200 BG

  2. You could try just going into the power management settings in the control panel and fiddling around in there to see if it helps Leed.

  3. (running Win7) I had the same problem with a ‘not wireless’ network adapter. Looks like it should solve the problem. (Will get back to inform, if it doesn’t) Anyway- thanks very much for advice.

  4. I’m giving it a shot. This has been driving me nuts since I installed 7. Thanks for digging into the detail on this one.

    • its a pleasure 🙂 thanks for visiting the blog and do visit again for updates. Thanks for updating on the results

  5. Ty very much! I liked everything about windows 7 except this problem. It was a huge nuisance. Now everything is great. Again I say Ty.

  6. Thanks so much for posting! I just installed 7 and noticed the adapter kept turning off. Good job diagnosing and posting…

  7. I have a similar…but different problem.
    Acer Aspire One and Windows7 Hhome Premium
    Windows often freezes after a while of complete inactivity of the netbook. I have nailed the culprit: the Atheros NIC power settings.
    If I forget to uncheck the box “allow the computer to turn off the device” in the NIC advanced properties this happens.
    Otherwise the netboook works like a charm.
    What makes me crazy is the fact that there is no way to make it permanent. The check comes back every time I start the netbook.
    I have tried with some registry tweaks but they are not permanent, like unchecking the damn box…
    Any idea?
    Thank you!

    • Change it to minimum, if that didnt help boot into your BIOS and under power settings there should be a stting to do this. let us know

  8. Nope, I always have to uncheck manually the “allow…etc. etc.” dialog in the NIC advanced properties to prevent the netbook from freezing.

Leave a Reply

