Providing Internet Access to Hyper-V machines through a WiFi Adapter

I was helping an organization to install and configure their infrastructure recently. They wanted to have an Active Directory, a Database Server and a SharePoint Server and wanted me to install and configure it for them.

The total solution had to be virtualized, hence I as usual preferred to use a Microsoft technology and selected Hyper-V.

I started the installation on my notebook, which has 8GB of RAM and runs on Windows Server 2008 R2. I started to install the first Guest OS (for the Active Directory). The installation went smooth without any problems. As soon as I finished the installation I faced a problem when I wanted to provide internet access to the guest machine (virtual machine). There was no way I could bind my WiFi adapter on the physical machine to my virtual machine, to see I could only bind an Ethernet connection to a Hyper-V machine.

There should be a solution for this and I started searching; BINGO đŸ™‚ bridge your WiFi network adapter with the virtual network adapter on the host machine.

The following is what I did,

  • Open Hyper-V manager
  • Click on the Virtual Network Manager and create an Internal Virtual Network by selecting Internal and clicking Add.
  • Give a meaningful Name
  • Apply and OK
  • Now a Virtual Network has been created which can be associated with 1 or more virtual machines.
  • On the host machine, in the Network and Sharing Center click on Change Adapter Settings
  • Select your WiFi Adapter and the Internal Virtual Network you created.
  • Right click and select Bridge Network and the bridge is created.
  • In the Hyper-V Manager, right click the virtual machine and select settings
  • Add a Network Adapter and select the Internal Virtual Network you created initially from the drop down.
  • click apply and ok

And that’s about it :)              

12 thoughts on “Providing Internet Access to Hyper-V machines through a WiFi Adapter

  1. y si quiero compartirlo con varias maquinas virtuales de que forma se podria hacer ya que esa misma k se crea y comparte el wifi la agrego en las demas y si la recoonoce pero me dice sin acceso a internet.

  2. You mean the Guest machine not the Host machine. There is really no change to be done in the host (virtual machine). All the changes suggested above is in the guest (base) machine. And yes it works!

    Thanks

  3. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

    • Awesome, thx for this post, was wondering wtf was wrong with Hyper-V on Windows 8 for some time. This gets past it as explained in the blog post (not comments mentioning to do changes in guest).

  4. I have something similar with Hyper-V on Windows 8, can you explain what is going wrong?

    I make a virtual switch which is connected to my WLAN adapter. I make a VM and connect that VM to the virtual switch. The VM can access the internet but the host can’t! If I take a look at the WLAN adapter on the host it is in a bridged state. If I remove the adapter on the host from the bridge the host can access the internet. But the VM can’t anymore, by removing the WLAN adapter from the bridge the virtual switch has changed the binding from the WLAN adapter to an Internal network.

    This seems only to happen on the WLAN adapter, not on the regular ethernet LAN adapter.

  5. Thank you, after hours of trying, this solved my problem. The connection on Hyper-V was fine till I installed Cisco VPN Client. After this, only with this soluton the connection was alive again in VM.

Leave a Reply

